Sin is like a dirty carpet

I started to clean my carpets today… After a couple of months it was full of stains from my beautiful boys who have dropped milk or juice & every now and then maybe a piece of candy. And of course I’ll pick it up enough to where it’s not just soaking in but not enough to where it still doesn’t stain. So as I was sitting there scrubbing the floors I thought, sin is like a dirty carpet. How you may ask? Well think about it, every day we fall short, we say something not to nice to someone, we do an act of unkindness, a ton of things. We are not all perfect and god knows that. But eventually it starts off like a stain in your carpet, not a big deal. But as time goes on, you start getting used to not really noticing all the little dirty spots (sin) in your life. Until one day you look around and see filth, and you ask yourself, what have I been doing?! How come I haven’t noticed this, it wasn’t that bad before. But just like anything, it needs a good cleaning. Repenting is like cleaning your carpet. You start in one spot and as you start realizing it’s there and cleaning it up it goes away. When we go to God and repent he washes everything clean. We can feel whole again, clean again.
In Isaiah 1:16 (NLT) ” Wash yourselves and be clean! Get your sins out of my sight. Give up your evil ways.”

Psalm 103:12 ” He has removed our sins as far from us as the east is from the west.”

Isn’t it great to know that he knows we aren’t perfect and yet he loves us so much to wash our sins away! I know I serve an awesome loving and just God!! Clean yourself today by going to God and turning away from the bad things of this world.

-Lexi O.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

